Day 1: Five Ways to Win My Heart

(Day 1 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge)

     I wrote this NOT with the hopes that someday someone will try to win my heart. I wrote this NOT to reveal the secret or trick to win a contest in which unluckily the price is me. (In the first place, love is not a contest and I could never be a trophy.) I wrote this NOT to show a map with my hopes that someday someone will try to traverse the path to defeat the dragons and the monsters so we can have our happy ever after. Haha. No.

     I will create this list to express how my heart easily flutters with the simplest and most unexpected thing there could be because (seriously) my heart hasn’t flutter for a while now. So, here you go:

1. Good Books. Good Music.


     I love it when I am surrounded by people who have a fair share of their own favorite something, whether it is a book, movie, song, band, artist—anything or anyone. I love people with hobbies, people who are passionate about something. It makes people more attractive when they talk about things they love to do or beliefs they would fight for.

     I highlighted books and music because these could be the first on the list to get my attention. If you would mention John Green, Paulo Coelho, Haruki Murakami, Lang Leav and other contemporary writers or even the classic ones, you’ll definitely have me. And if you can sing some good lines from the songs of Jason Mraz, I would love to listen.

2. Unexpected Plans and Travels

     You know those movies where in the characters have this Eureka moment when they suddenly decided to have this road trip to somewhere? I want to have that kind of moment. I love those kinds of decisions. The unexpected. I have tried those twice or thrice and I must say they are one of the best scenes of my life. I love travelling and sitting beside the vehicle’s window. It makes me think. Definitely, I would love it more if someone will be free enough to go with me. Let’s share this reckless decision to get lost.

3. Love Letters (Old School Stuff)


     In this world where cellphones and other one-click gadgets exist, handwritten love letters and notes would be something special. Who would not want to read squeal of emotions flooding a piece of paper (sometimes sprayed with perfume too)? Old school, right? But for me, it’s cool! Think about it: holding papers that can be kept to your drawer to be read again and again is way better than staring at a cellphone’s screen displaying old messages or screen shots. At least, when it is a handwritten letter, you can feel that you’re someone special. There goes his time writing it, his effort thinking of it, and his own penmanship putting his thoughts to life.

4. Deep Conversation

     I am introvert. I am saying this because I don’t like small talks. I will run the world so that I can avoid you if only we would talk about the weather and other mindless babble. Please talk about your passion, fears, love, dreams, beliefs—everything. No filter. I’d be more willing to listen. And maybe, even share.

5. I Don’t Know


     This could be the most confusing part. If you would really ask me how to win my heart, I don’t really have a definite answer. I want to call it the CLICK. I have this tendency of listening to my instincts telling me that he is the one without any valid reason—just pure unexplainable feeling that this person deserves my heart. Weird, isn’t it? Sad to say, it had only happened ONCE (that click). I don’t know if it will happen again. So even if you do the first four mentioned if you have not achieved the last and the most important way, then it’s a sorry. I listen so much to what my instincts tell me. That is how I survived life so far.

     There you have it! The five ways to win my heart. Haha. How can this be the first entry to this month’s daily writing challenge? I can’t even. I don’t even. I have lost the capability to even…

2 thoughts on “Day 1: Five Ways to Win My Heart

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

