Day 2: Something I Feel Strongly About

(Day 2 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge)

            I was supposed to answer writing. I feel strongly about writing. Wouldn’t that be a very safe and obvious answer? Writing has never been this therapeutic. The process has been saving me from depression for a while now. I can feel that I have found again my sense of direction. For the first  time after a long time, I wake up every day with my first thoughts not on a person but with writing and the beauty of words.

            But I have to admit something. I need to be honest here. Actually, there still something that I feel more strongly about. It is the four-letter word that will always come to mind. Yes. Love.

            I never considered myself as someone who is an expert when it comes to love. I can give you the lamest and nastiest advice so better not seek them from me. But I still consider that I have my own beliefs with regards to love and you can’t change them unless I allow you to. I and love have this strong connection (like everybody else). So let me enumerate three reasons why among many other things in life, I still consider love as the number one thing I feel strongly about.

  1. I am a hopeless romantic.

When I say I believe in love, I really mean it with every sense of the word. I am one of those who still think that happy-ever-after exists. Thanks to my enthusiasm with fairy tales when I was just a little girl.

I consider love as a form of art especially when I know it is true. I am easily affected by movies and Korean dramas that I watch. It is easy for me to feel the kilig. When good love songs are played, I can’t help but to be in love (even when I have no one to fall in love with). Haha. I am a sucker for love.

But seriously, I still subscribe to the idea that two persons should be together because they are meant to be. Two persons should be together because they can’t live without each other. Two persons should be together because of love.

  1. I am a big believer of Biblical views on love.

You know that famous Bible verse from 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

“Love is patient and kind. It does not brag, does not get puffed up, does not behave indecently, does not look for its own interests, does not become provoked. It does not keep account of the injury. It does not rejoice over unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth. It bears all things, endures all things.”

I memorized this by heart. And I am trying my best to apply it in life. I did. And still.

  1. I am changed by love.

When we love, we have already accepted a great chance that we will be hurt. And yes, I was hurt. Excruciatingly. (Oh. I love that word.) But after all the pain, love changed me. Positively. After all the things I’ve been through, I learned to see life in a brighter light. I appreciated the world more, (or the universe rather). And that’s why I have found my gift—writing.

***

So I bet love and writing are very much connected for me. That’s why I can’t decide whether it is love or writing that I feel strongly about. Let it be both.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

