Day 3: Thirteen Books I Love 

(Day 3 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge)

Today’s topic originally requires me to write about ONE BOOK I love. But who am I to fool if I will only choose one? I had lots of them! It’s like being a mom then somebody asked me to choose among my babies. No way.

So meet my top thirteen books among many books I love.

My own Top 13 Books. The Book Thief isn’t included because I haven’t bought a hard copy yet.

They are not in order though. And I’ll explain in just one sentence (or two or three. Gah. I’m wordy.) why I love them.

I will also include my own favorite quote from each book though I have tons of them. Only one okay? Okay.
Here we go:

1. The Little Prince
By Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

I love this book because it’s a slap to adulthood’s face which have eaten the child in all of us.

“I have lived a great deal among grown-ups. I have seen them intimately, close at hand. And that hasn’t much improved my opinion of them.”

2. The Time Traveler’s Wife
By Audrey Niffeneger

I can relate to Clare Abshire esp. on loving a person who suddenly appears then be gone the next moment. (But that doesn’t mean that I’m also a time traveler’s wife. Haha.)

“I won’t ever leave you, even though you’re always leaving me.”

3. Paper Towns
By John Green

I wanted to be as brave as Margo Roth Spiegelman, leave my own paper town and be with my own self. But I also envy the fact that she has someone like Quentin who can go through a lot to chase her. (Oops! I’m getting wordy again.)

“All the things paper-thing and paper-frail. And all the people, too. I’ve lived here for eighteen years and I have never once in my life come across anyone who cares about anything that matters.”

4. Looking for Alaska
By John Green

I love Alaska Young’s personality, her little library, her witty comebacks, her nonconformity, and playful pranks. John Green always teaches me the value of acceptance despite the so many uncontrollable things in life.

“‘I go to seek a Great Perhaps.’ That’s why I’m going. So I don’t have to wait until I die to start seeking a Great Perhaps.”

5. The Alchemist
By Paulo Coelho

The journey of Santiago encourages me to dream my ultimate dream. Coelho’s words are so encouraging that after reading his books, I just want to risk and chase what my heart desires.

“And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

6. Brida
By Paulo Coelho

I don’t actually feel connected with the storyline but the effect after reading this book was too much. Coelho made me embrace my mistakes, my path, the search for my Soul Mate and the value of finding my own gift and purpose in this world.

“Ever since time began, people have recognized their true Love by the light in their eyes.”

7. The Norwegian Wood
By Haruki Murakami

Naoko still haunts me until now. Her melancholy still lingers. Murakami’s characters make me realize the depth and demons of our beings. And I can surely relate to the main characters because they are introverts.

“I was always hungry for love. Just once, I wanted to know what it was like to get my fill of it–to be fed with so much love I couldn’t take anymore. Just once.”

8. The Catcher in the Rye
By J.D. Salinger
I admire Holden Caulfield’s raw observation of his surroundings and life in general. I can relate to his weariness with the world. I just love characters who are honest and seems to be pure at heart.

“Don’t ever tell anybody anything. If you do, you start missing everybody.”

9. The Perks of being a Wallflower
By Stephen Chbosky

This book talks about the beauty of being the silent observer, drinking the moment, absorbing everything. Charlie was honest in describing what is happening around him. I like that.

“And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.”

10. Love and Misadventure
By Lang Leav

I also like the other books of Lang Leav but I only mentioned the first one I’ve read. Her poems are powerful for me no matter how short and unconventional they are. I needed to stare at the wall after reading each poem because there’s a truth I can connect to in every word she writes.

“But it’s perplexingly sweet, and quite sexy too–to be ignored, ignored by you.”

11. The Fault in our Stars
By John Green

I won’t forget the little infinities of Augustus and Hazel Grace. Here, I’ve definitely decided that John Green is my fave author of all time.

“Keep your shit together.”

12. To Kill a Mockingbird
By Harper Lee

I like the fact that it is written with a perspective of a child. I admire the character of Atticus and the fact that he practice what he preaches. This book made me want to belive in the goodness of the human world.

“Atticus, he was really nice.”
“Most people are, Scout, when you finally see them.”

13. The Book Thief
By Markus Zusak

To put death as the narrator makes this book a one in a million. The life of Liesel Meminger as narrated by death was just… (I can’t have enough word for this book.) It’s a poetry in prose. Something I can’t get enough from.

“She was one of the few souls that made me wonder what it was to live.”

***

And thus this list goes on. From choosing one book to ten and then twelve because I almost forgot TFIOS and To Kill a Mockingbird. Of course, I can’t omit them from this list. Then on the last minute, I remembered The Book Thief so I ended up with thirteen. (Oh. Among other bookworm’s dilemma.)

By the way, this article was supposed to be posted yesterday, April 3, but I was having a hard time limiting the list and describing how I feel for every book.

And honestly, there’s a lot of love going on in life lately, I need to divide my attention (if you know what I mean.)💕💖

Anyway, I want to hear about your own list too. Please do comment what else I should be reading so that I won’t be missing any great book out there. All for the love of books. Cheers! ☕️📚

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

