Day 10: Ten Random Songs on my Playlist

(Day 10 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge)

I have mentioned in my post Day 6: On Mainstream Music, that I’m a music lover. So this task wouldn’t be that hard.

But then I realized that sharing the songs on my playlist is like sharing also a part of me. It’s like making people know what type of person I am by just telling them about the songs I listen to. In fact, it’s like an expression of my inner self that I can’t express directly.

Just like what they say, So here’s my playlist. It’s actually full of pop songs with fast rhythm and oozing good vibes. I prefer music that way. Naku, madrama na nga ang buhay; madrama pa ang kantang nais? No way!

I put my playlist on shuffle. And here are the first ten songs that were played. I’d explain why they are on my playlist. So hold your judgements first.

Okay. In 1, 2, 3 play!

1. Hello, You Beautiful Thing by Jason Mraz

No wonder, any Jason Mraz song would appear. I should mentioned that more than half of the songs on my playlist are from Jason Mraz. I just love his genre, his words, the rhythm. They usually put me in a trance.

I’m happy that one of my favorite songs appeared first. I love listening to it every morning. It makes me feel that life is awesome. It’s beautiful. Favorite lines:

“But my thoughts are all I got

so I try to make them brave.”

2. I Bet My Life by Imagine Dragons

I don’t know how this song made it to my phone. Haha. I don’t know about this song. The only song I know from Imagine Dragons is Demons. I love that song.

But after connecting to my best friend’s iTunes, this song appeared. And I admit, I didn’t delete it. There’s something in it that I love.

I usually listen to it when I want to shout, when I’m frustrated and when I feel that life is hopeless.

Favorite lines:

“So I, I bet my life,

I bet my life 

I bet my life on you”

 

3. What Do You Mean by Justin Bieber


I’m surprised that this song is still on my playlist. Haha.

Okay. To be honest, I was a fan of JB before, when I was still in high school. That time his songs were Overboard, That Should be Me, U Smile, and all other songs when he still got this high pitch. Haha. This makes me feel old.

Favorite lines:

“What do you mean?

When you nod your head yes.

But you wanna say no?”

 

4. Scream and Shout by Will.I.Am with Britney Spears


Who would think that I have this song? Haha. I should have deleted this. In fact, I don’t listen to it anymore. Not that I was always listening to it before.
Maybe, it’s still here because I feel like I should at least save songs that I can listen to when I want to scream and shout? Literally.

Favorite lines: 

“I wanna scream and shout,

and let it all out

And scream, and shout, and let it out”

 

5. To the Sky by Owl City


Finally! A song I love. Aside from Jason Mraz, I also love Owl City. And this song is a fave. It also makes me feel good about life. The rhythm and the words. Ugh. Life is sooooooo good! Savory to the ears. It makes me just want to sing

Favorite lines:

“Chase your dreams,

and remember me, sweet bravery

‘Cause after all those wings will take you, up so high

So bid the forest floor goodbye as you race the wind

And take to the sky”

 

6. The Remedy by Jason Mraz


Told you, Jason Mraz would appear again. I love rapping the lyrics of this song. It makes me breathless. But the words and the beat makes me high.

I also love how it had a poetic license on this lines: 

“if you’ve gots the poison I’ve gots the remedy”

As a grammar teacher, I love the rebellion here. How can I choose among the beautiful lines? Okay. Okay. Here.

Favorite lines:

“well, it all amounts to nothing in the end.

I won’t worry my life away.

I won’t worry my life away.”


7. Wild Wild Love by Pitbull ft. G.R.L.

Ugh. Another song like this. Now, you might think I’m a bipolar? Haha. Please no. I just appreciate all the genre of music.

I would love this song if we remove the rap part. Then that would basically means losing the big portion of the song. By the way, I can’t delete this from my playlist because of these lines:  

“All this wild wild love of us

It can’t be tamed, no

For better or worse

A blessing or a curse

Long live this wild wild love of us

Long live this wild wild love”

 

8. If it Kills Me by Jason Mraz


Gotcha. Oh hi there, Mr. A-Z. Again. πŸ˜‰

I love this song because it is about a love that should be suppressed because they can’t be together for some apparent reasons. I think girl here has a boyfriend, that’s why. Jason, ako na lang! Haha.

It’s so relatable. Especially the line,

This double life I lead isn’t healthy for me

In fact it makes me nervous

If I get caught, I could be risking it all. 

And also, 

We get along much better

Than you and your boyfriend

My favorite line, the most relatable of all, the chorus:

Well all I really wanna do is love you

A kind much closer than friends use

But I still can’t say it after all we’ve been through

And all I really want from you is to feel me

As the feeling inside keeps building

And I will find a way to you if it kills me

If it kills me


9. Yellow by Coldplay 


Okay? What a coincidence? Coldplay was here in the Philippines last week. Definitely, heartbreaking for us Filipinos who weren’t able to watch it live.

Anyway, I’m happy that it randomly appeared. I learned about this song when I have this crush 😬 who played it after we lose a game. We were team Yellow during that particular Sports Fest. Haha.

Favorite line: 

Look at the stars,

Look how they shine for you,

And everything you do,

Yeah, they were all yellow.

 Also 

10. Dear Future Husband by Meghan Trainor


Funny, it’s the last song. Didn’t expect it coming. Haha. The melody and beat is too cute but the meaning makes sense, anyway. I like that part, when she was singing this You got that 9 to 5 but baby so do I. Cheers to all independent women out there!

But I love more the first part of the song when it was just Meghan’s voice saying my favorite lines: 

“Dear future husband

Here’s a few things

You’ll need to know if you wanna be

My one and only all my life”

 

So before I end the list there, I accidentally played the 11th song and I can’t help but share it.

Here: 

There’s no way Ed Sheeran wouldn’t be on my list. This song always makes me shriek out of kilig. It always makes me feel good about love. Babe! 😘

Okay. Judge me now. I had explained my side. Haha. But please don’t. We’re here on this world to live it and enjoy some good songs in between. πŸ˜‰

I would also love to know your favorite songs. Please, share them too. Yes! All for the love of music. 🎀🎼🎧

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

