Day 11: My Family of Five

(Day 11 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge)

I don’t usually talk about my family on social media. But I feel blessed when it comes to my family more than anything. Whatever I had achieved in life and whatever I will achieve in the future, they are always the main reason for it.


I want to believe that I’m one of those luckiest people to be blessed by an ideal family. When I say ideal, it’s like a family that I was reading about on my Grade 1 English textbook. Yes. I still remember that book. It has a white cover bearing its title Read, Learn and Grow.

At a very early age, I already loved reading. I grew up to be a bookworm. A book lover. So I still remember the first books that introduced me to the world of books.

Going back to the topic…on that particular book, there’s a chapter that focuses on the importance of family. It made mentioned the father, mother, a sister, a brother and the baby. 

Exactly the five members of my family:

1. Papang (Father) πŸ‘¨πŸ»


His one of the gentlest father I know. I think I got that from him. He always do a lot for me. He always make sure I’m comfortable with life. I might consider myself as spoiled. But no. I’m very thankful to have a responsible and kindhearted father like him.

2. Mamang (Mother) πŸ‘©πŸ»


She’s strict. Somehow the opposite of my father. But I love them both just the same. One thing about her is that she always want us to be home before it gets dark. Typical Filipino mom. hehe. She always does the chores well and cares of us unconditionally. The tender loving care of mothers are indeed irreplaceable.

3. Kizza (Me) πŸ‘§πŸ»


I’m the eldest. It’s quite a responsibility and an advantage too. Apir sa mga panganay dyan! You know what I mean. I have the rights to command my brothers because I’m their ate. But they also have the rights to ask help from me also because I’m their ate. As the eldest, I really need to be a role model to my younger sibs. ClichΓ© as it may sound. But that’s how things go with families. Mahirap magloko!

4. RG (Brother) πŸ‘¦πŸ»


He’s my complete opposite. Almost in every aspect. In Filipino, we’re aso’t pusa (a dog and a cat). Enemies. We argue on a lot of things, from the volume of the stereo to the songs played and to everything beyond.

But it had also been proven that in bad times, we still have each other.

5. JB (Brother) πŸ‘ΆπŸ»


The bunso. (Youngest) He is so diligent. He helps in household chores because his ate and kuya are so lazy like that. πŸ˜‚

He’s competitive too. He always says that he would beat whatever we had achieved in life. Haha. I’m ten years older than him so I would always answer that I’ll be 32-years old once he graduated in college. I’ll be far greater by then. Haha.

Home wouldn’t be complete without these two kiddos who are now taller than me.

There. You’ve met the fambam who plays a big role in who I am today. I’m grateful for having them. 

I consider them as my number one treasure. And I have to confess one thing. (Ampon ako? Charoooooot!) No. I must mention that every new year, that particular moment when the clock hits 12:00, I say a silent prayer. 

“May this family be blessed and guided for another year. And may we still be together for the next years to come.”

πŸ‘¨πŸ»πŸ‘©πŸ»πŸ‘§πŸ»πŸ‘¦πŸ»πŸ‘ΆπŸ»

2 thoughts on “Day 11: My Family of Five

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

