Book Review & Quotes: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

This book is an easy read. Okay. Let me ellaborate on that. I describe a book like that when I just read without giving too much effort. I don’t have heavy feelings and confused thoughts. I just lie there and be with the characters. Then the plot smoothly flows. And I am not obliged to pour so much soul into it. It’s a pure entertainment. Exactly the book I needed as a relief from Coelho and Harukami’s soul-twisting novels. 😁
Oh. I have so many things to say about this book. Let me start with how the character of Beth is sooooo relatable in many levels except in size because I’m more like Emilie to be honest–petite and as how Lincoln put it, when someone hugs people like Emilie, they easily disappears. Haha. “He felt like he could hug all of her at once.”

Well, Beth as I understood is a girl whose size is compatible to Lincoln. They are both enormous. But anyway, here’s why Beth is relatable:

1. Her love story with her boyfriend for 9 years 

There’s this part when Beth was confessing to her best friend Jennifer that her relationship with her boyfriend Chris is not so traditional, er, not romantic. She was saying that she loves him more than he loves her. There are times that she feels invisible. She doesn’t even know if when she would see him or received a call from him.


She’s confused whether it’s a good thing or not. Their relationship was not going anywhere but they couldn’t just end it. Chris said that it’s a curse they can’t get away from. He said that he loves her but she’s just too much for him. 

So so relatable!

That’s why I’m happy that Beth finally made the right decision after Chris admitted that he got no plans of marrying her. I’ll do the same if I’m Beth.

2. Beth’s way of crushing is sooo me

Beth saw Lincoln in their workplace and find him cute. Without knowing anything about him, she owned him and tagged him as “My Cute Guy.” She even followed him one time as far as Lincoln’s place, but she didn’t introduce herself. I stalked that much too. Haha. Kidding.

This reminds me of high school feelings. πŸ˜…

3. Beth is a hopeless romantic.

I think it’s the reason why she and Lincoln clicked. And that’s the reason why I find myself in Beth. She believe in that click. She’s a writer of a newspaper specifically doing reviews for movies and she got that humor which Lincoln fell in love with even before meeting her or seeing her face. Oh how I love to have a kind of love like that–when it’s not just about looks but it’s more on the sexiness of one’s mind and soul. 😁 

Then, I find myself in Lincoln too. What’s with Rainbow Rowell’s character? πŸ˜…

Here’s why:

1. His break up with Sam

There’s nothing more heart-wrenching than to be cheated on. It just destroys who you are. The moment Lincoln saw his girlfriend, whom he prioritized that much, kissing another man…that’s total bullsh*t! How I wish I could just enter the book on that particular page and slap the sh*t out of her. Ugh! Why do you do this to loyal and loving people?! Just whhhhhyyyy!?

2. His craving for independence

This is what makes western countries different to ours in the east. As far as I can understand, in the west when you reach your legal age it’s just normal to leave your home and live in an apartment, find yourself, figure things out independently. But here in the Philippines, you could live with your parents as much as you want–even after graduation, even after your wedding, even when you got kids already. Not that I don’t like this part of our culture which emphasizes close ties in our families…but…but… I just got westernized views in life. There’s something in me that craves for independence.

3. His unhappiness with his job.

Lincoln works in the IT department, assuring security in the computers and reading malicious emails of the workers (which is where the story revolves because that’s where he met Beth). He does nothing valuable as he puts it. I just know that feeling sometimes when you feel like you’re worthless and you begin to question the value of yourself. You want to do a lot of things yet your stuck with a job…a boring job… You’ve been eaten by a routine that makes you feel suffocated. Oh. How I wish I could be brave with Lincoln’s decision to leave at the end.

To sum it up, I love the book…in a very light way, not the love that I love it so much I could literally hug it, but just love. Okay. Let me just use the work like. 😁

Here are my thirty favorite quotes by the way:

1. Did you know you have a mole on the back of your neck?

2. And he could tell her anything, even things that mattered, and fierce.

3. “What do you want to do with your life?” “You.” “You can’t major in me.”

4. Nothing but potential.

5. I loved college. I wish I could go back.

6. Being responsible gives you wrinkles.

7. I’d rather you said “I love you” because you were so full of love for me that you couldn’t keep it in.

8. He was destined to meet me. He says I could go back and do my whole life over, and I’d still end up marrying him.

9. I knew what I wanted in life. I wanted him…I had no boring subplots.

10. I think I was supposed to figure all this stuff out somewhere between twenty-two and twenty-six, and now it’s too late.

11. Love. Purpose. Those are the things that you can’t plan for. Those are the things that just happen. And what if they don’t happen? Do you spend your whole life pining for them? Waiting to be happy?

12. …if he told someone, he knew it wouldn’t sound bad. That it was really a fairly standard teenage heartbreak.

13. I don’t believe you cheated on me…And if you did, it doesn’t matter. I love you more than anything else matters.

14. From a thousand miles away. There’s nothing you could become that I haven’t already fallen in love with.

15. I don’t have anything real to complain abour. My complaint is: I always thought I’d be married by now.

16. Every woman wants a man who’ll fall in love with her soul as well as her body.

17. Falling in love with someone for who she is and what she says and what she believes in.

18. Like a sad chasm could emerge in your personality at any moment.

19. I’m here. Find me. Follow me. Make this inevitable.

20. I have a boyfriend. More than a boyfriend. I’m living in sin.

21. Just haggard and morose.

22. Wasn’t hitting bottom the thing you had to do to knock some sense into yourself? Wasn’t hitting bottom the thing that showed you which way was up?

23. She’s a force. A force to be reckoned with. And act of God, you know?

24. I’m still hers.

25. Some people count sheep. I self-loathe.

26. How can you not feel your heart open to the cosmos?

27. You can’t walk away from what’s between us. I’ve tried… We’re a spell. We’re magic.

28. No sense staying someplace after you realize you don’t want to be there.

29. But the aching faded, too. Things get better–hurt less–over time. If you let them.

30. The wanting to look at her again. More. And again.

3 thoughts on “Book Review & Quotes: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

